south of the border

Felix and I had been travelling together for about two weeks. We had met in San Cristobal in Chiapas and like all the other back packers had followed the route to the ancient rainforest city of Palenque and then travelled to the white sands of Tulum.

I’d been travelling alone for a couple of months before this and was happy for the company. Felix was French Canadian, a seasoned traveller and was on the last leg of a year long Latin American holiday. We got along immediately and settled in to an easy friendship.

We’d agreed to travel together as far as Tulum, at which point I was flying back to Mexico City and he was going to head to the party beaches of Playa del Carmen and Cancun till his money ran out.

We arrived in Tulum late in the day, tired from hours in cramped seats. After two weeks we’d assumed a certain familiarity out of necessity, in the way you only can with strangers you will probably never see again. We’d spent hours on buses comparing stories and falling asleep on each other’s shoulders. The days blurred as we climbed pyramids, took thousands of photos and got hideously drunk on Mezcal and Montejo together.

After finding out that there was no room at the hostel we were booked into we ended up at the reception desk of a small hotel. We were so tired we payed scant attention to the keys we were handed and dragged ourselves upstairs, both desperate to shower and change into what few clean clothes we had left.

At the top of the staircase we realised we had the same room number. By the time we opened the door we realised there was only one bed. We shuffled in to the tiny room and collapsed onto the floor next to our packs. At that stage I was so tired I could have slept curled up on the bath mat. We decided to shower, change and eat, then worry about it.

Felix went first as I flicked through the guidebook to see if I could find somewhere good to eat. I figured we could get a collectivo to the Pueblo and eat at one of the Taquerias. I must have dosed off at some point because I woke up to him dripping water on my face as he prized the book out of my fingers. Felix took great delight in teasing me about my reliance on guidebooks and maps. He was one of fortune’s children, and with his easy smile and handsome features it never took him long to make friends and feel welcome in new places. Even though I’d maintained some of my uptight habits from home I surprised myself with how I felt about him. Back home I would never have sprawled on a man I barely knew while we slept off a brutal hang over, shared intimate details of my life or swapped meals half way through to try a different flavour.

He laughed as I swatted him away lazily. The shower had invigorated him and he was keen to make use of what little light was left. I groaned and rolled out of bed, then stumbled into the bathroom. I automatically washed and dried myself then made my way towards the door. As I stood there, wrapped in a towel, with one hand on the door handle I felt strangely vulnerable. I’d wriggled in and out of clothes in front of Felix before a dozen times in shared dormitories and on beaches and thought little of it. This time however, with him sitting on that double bed, in our shared hotel room it felt some how more intimate. I emerged from the bathroom somewhat timidly and squeakily asked him to turn around. His cheeks reddened and he faced the wall as I hurriedly scrambled into my clothes. For a moment I was convinced that in my peripheral vision I saw him turn his head slightly as I slid my jeans on.

It dawned on me that this was going to be our last night together. I felt a surprisingly sharp pain at the thought. It was highly likely I would never see Felix again. We’d email for a bit, maybe a phone call or two but I doubted we’d travel to each other’s homes and try to embed this strange friendship into our real lives. Later I turned to look at him as he ordered empanadas for both of us and felt myself lingering over his dark brown eyes, fringed with long lashes. Had I noticed that before? He smiled at the lady cooking and told her niña she was bonita, eliciting a gale of laughter from both of them. He had a way of being charming that made people adore him and trust him. I’d seen it a hundred times at random quesadilla stands and perched on camionettas, as well as at bars where his handsome face and boyish charm had delighted women and left a trail of longing hearts. I’d prided myself on how I’d remained immune to it. I was travelling to get away from a mess back home and needed things to be as uncomplicated as possible.

The thought of home drew an involuntary shiver, despite the fabled Yucatan warm weather.

Three spicy empanadas and a Naranja juice later and we were wandering towards the beach. The sun was setting a warm tangerine over impossibly turquoise water. Like most Yucatan beaches the sand was an almost pure white powder and our feet made little noise as we padded along the waters edge. Ankle deep as the tide came in, searching for the fabled flamingoes I turned my back to the shore to see Felix stripping off his clothes and running to the water. His clothes flew off and made a trail behind him as he ran headlong towards me in his boxer shorts. I tried to side step him but was soon wrapped up in his long arms and up-ended in the water.

As we made our way back towards the Pueblo, Felix felt a pang of guilt and gave me his dry shirt to put on and carried mine. Travelling had been good to him and he was tanned and lightly muscled, walking with relaxed grace as we made our way towards the markets. We ended up on a pair of tiny plastic stools sharing a plate of arroz and Pollo Ticul. I felt suddenly self-conscious as Felix watched me lick sauce off my fingers. We had planned to have a few drinks later that night but I needed to change my jeans still wet from the beach.

At the hotel we passed the reception and neither of us mentioned the shared bed. It occurred to me on the stairs to say something, but for some reason, I let it slide. Back in the room Felix made a point of turning towards the wall as I changed out of my wet jeans into a skirt. I caught our reflection in the lobby mirror as we headed to the jalapa on the beach for cocktails. With his arm casually around my shoulders we looked like any other couple holidaying on the Mayan Riviera.

In the flickering glow of the tealight on the table I watched as Felix rolled an ice block out of his glass and let it melt on his tongue. I let my eyes drop to his hands folding an old bus ticket he’d fished out of his pocket. Strangely for us conversation had dwindled. We’d been over where we were heading next, made some random jokes about him being deported for overstaying his visa and now there was little else than the tension that solidified the space between us. My gaze travelled back up to his face. Had he ever looked at me like that before?

“Sweet heart?”
“Mmm…Yes dear?” (Mimicking the the B-Grade movie we’d watched on the bus)
“Shall we take a turn about the garden?”
“Oh why yes, lets”

Every muscle in my body tensed in the most exquisite fashion as Felix took my hand as I stood up. Still in B-Grade movie mode he’d commented on how I looked fabulous, to which I’d replied he was absolutely dashing. We linked arms and headed up the path into the flower beds under the exterior stairway to the rooms. Flashes of tropical ginger flowers blazed between indigo foliage. For what seemed like an interminably long time we stood leaning into each other admiring a Strelitzia bud splitting apart as its petals grew too large to be contained.

As he laughed his lips made shapes that I couldn’t pretend I wasn’t staring at. He found reason to brush something out of my hair and leave his face close to mine. The tip of my nose had nudged his ever so lightly as I lifted my chin just a fraction. There is something so sweet about the seconds that exist between that wanting and the kiss. I’d edged my face another millimetre closer to his. He’d said something quietly and as his mouth brushed mine his fingers tilted my chin and his lips gently pressed against my cheek. I was surprised by the slight tremble I’d detected in his kiss as he’d edged his way to the corner of my mouth. I moved my face in line with his and kissed him more firmly.

The first were slow, lush kisses and he’d paused, forehead resting on mine, gazing down with his dark eyes. I pulled his arms around me and slowly he relaxed and his weight pressed into me, melting our chests together, flesh pressing into the thin cotton fabric of our clothes. His arm drew my waist into his and I felt the shape of his body, warm on my hips and thighs. A few more kisses and my legs had parted slightly and he’d raised me up so I might better feel his cock, hardening in his trousers.

I extracted the room key from his pocket, pulled my face back slightly from his and held it up. He smiled and took a small bite of my lower lip as I pulled him by the hand towards the stairs.

In front of the door I’d paused momentarily, a mixture of emotions and gin swirling around in my brain. I slid the key into the lock and the sound of the metal easing into the barrel seemed somehow loud in my ears. Did I detect a slight look of hesitation in his face?

The curtains of our room were drawn back and in the soft light I pulled off his shirt and dropped it on the floor. I’d come to recognise his smell and breathed it in noticing how it had changed slightly. His nipples had tightened and his body tensed and reacted as I haphazardly interchanged kisses with small bites of his flesh.

He pulled me back up to standing and undid my shirt as he stared straight into my eyes. There was nothing hesitant about how my shirt came off and my bra came undone or how I then slipped off my skirt. I tugged at the waistband of his trousers and raised an eyebrow as my fingers found the buttons and then the zip. They dropped to the floor and as he stepped out of them he lifted me up by the waist, wrapping my legs around him. From my vantage point up here it occured to me that he’d probably done that before.

He set me down on the bed and pulled a pillow behind me and I leant back. Leaning over me he slowly spread my hair out and straightened up to look at me, skin paled by the soft light. I shut my eyes as I let my fingers wander over my breasts, down my stomach, hooking them into the fabric of my underwear. I could hear his breathing change as I slowly slid them down lower over my hips. I slipped my hand inside and cupped the soft mound of my pussy. There was something about him watching me, the way I could feel even with my eyes closed his gaze burning my skin that made my hand slip further down until I could feel the moist folds of my slit. As my fingers dipped into the wetness between my lips he slowly pulled the fabric further down. Eyes still closed I felt his breath warm my skin as he watched my fingers exploring the contours still hidden from view. I felt his grip on my wrist as he pulled my hand to his mouth and licked my finger tips and then sucked my index finger. He then released my hand and pulled my underwear to my knees as I slid my wet finger a little further inside myself. Once again his breath on my skin showed me where his face was as I flicked my finger back and forth of over the tip of my clit. I felt warm air tickle my thighs as his hands parted my legs. Small kisses buzzed on my legs but I knew his gaze was still fixed on the fingers moving with increased pressure over my peaked clit. His tongue dragged a line from my thigh and stopped painfully close to the crease, then was mirrored on the other side. Back to the right again, this time minutely closer. Left side, his tongue curled right up to my circling fingers. He paused and then pushed my hand aside as his tongue continued right into the cleft. He’d firmly taken hold of my hips to hold me close to his mouth as he flattened his tongue against my swollen lips.

As he rocked my body back and forth against his I thought of the hard cock I’d felt in his trousers. I leant forward resting on my elbows and when he looked up at me from between my thighs I took his hand and pulled him up towards me. Feeling his weight pressing into me again and the smell of me mixed in with him I slowly rolled my hips under his. He smiled at me and raised an eyebrow as he reached past my head to his bag sitting on the bedside table. He pulled out a condom and paused to look directly at me again. I took it from his hand, rolled him onto his back and pulled his shorts off. In a matter of seconds I’d opened the package and slid it down over his cock.

We locked eyes as he sat up, put me back down on my back and resumed his position.

“Just a little more.”

His tongue pushed back in and worked more firmly over my clit. His finger made teasing circles around the entrance before pushing firmly inside. Sound rushed out of my mouth as his fingers pushed long strokes in and out of me. I could feel that his hands and the sides of my thighs were wet. As my breathing came out in strained gasps he pulled his fingers back and rubbed rapid circles over my clit. My hips rose up off the bed and I nearly burst from the wanting of that feeling of penetration.

Fingers still circling he made his way back up the bed, kissing my body with maddening slowness. Gripped with the agony of it, my face was no mirror to the softness in his face as his mouth parted slightly when he pressed the tip of his cock where his hand had been. He edged inside very slowly. The sensation of the stretch made me convulse hard and he waited until my breathing slowed before finally pushing all of his cock inside me.

My legs wrapped around his waist once more he took long strokes inside of me. I quickened the pace with my hips, moving my knees back further to draw him in deeper. I could feel his gaze again. He was looking for the flush that was spreading over my chest, listening for the sound of my breathing, watching my head tip back, lifting the white skin of my throat upwards. He moved to the rhythm I set as my hips rocked back and forth under him and as orgasm built inside of me he pushed increasingly harder and harder inside me, moving deeper as I opened up fully to take the full lenth of his cock.

I felt the first ripple through my thighs, then radiating up from my stomach into my chest. With his hand under my waist he pulled me up to him. I contorted helplessly through the first tremors and he forced me through to orgasm. I shuddered and convulsed all around him, gasping as he plunged inside me, his own need taking over. I released in bursts and though I was overwhelmed with the sensation he held me firm beneath him as his own eyes fluttered closed and he swelled thick inside me and he came in hard, shuddering waves.

We lay beside each other as our ragged breathing slowed and the hearts beating chaotically in our chests calmed. Felix poured some water from the bottle by the bed into the glass and passed it to me. I curled onto his chest as his arm draped lazily over me. After a few moments I could feel his fingers sliding with intent over the pink tips of my over sensitive nipples. He nudged my face with his nose and I looked up at him. He raised his eyebrow once more.

“I haven’t finished with you yet.”

2 Comments

Filed under erotic

2 responses to “south of the border

  1. Why thank you darling

    xx peony

Leave a Reply

